Life Perceived by Me

A great WordPress.com site

I Am A Realist….

on January 13, 2013
optimist-pessimist-realist
Or am I? My wonderful other half just likes to pin me as a total pessimist. I don’t believe so. Therefore I decided to look it up, which is one of my favorite things.

Realist according to the internet on FreeDictionary.com is someone who is a pragmatist.  A person who is aware of and accepts the physical universe, events, etc., as they are or one inclined in the literal truth.

That definition is curious to me being accepting things “as they are” really depends on what you perceive they are. Right? Most things in life depend on perception. Who decides what the literal truth is? Seems so clear cut but nothing in this world is.

Optimism, well optimistic I am not but we will take a look at is anyway. An Optimist “the word is originally derived from the latin optimum, meaning “best.” Being optimistic, in the typical sense of the word, ultimately means one expects the best possible outcome from any given situation. This is usually referred to in psychology as dispositional optimism.” Thank you Wikipedia.

Lets just say optimism isn’t something I really can ever be accused of practicing. Not that I am completely pessimistic. The glass is obviously half full but that in turn means its half empty. Always room for more to be poured in. Its hard for me to see how complete optimism is healthy. I don’t want to be blindsided by the reality of a situation because I’d much rather look at everything with rose colored glasses. No offense to the optimists out there but without my pragmatism there wouldn’t be balance in the world.

Pessimism, we all love to use that word right. Its the frame of mind we supposedly all strive to NOT be in. According to our favorite Wikipedia “Pessimism is a state of mind in which one anticipates undesirable outcomes or believes that the evil or hardships in life outweighs the good or luxuries.” As much as a pessimist my partner claims I am I don’t believe that the hardships in life outweigh the good. At no point does evil become more important than the good in the world. I am not going to ignore the reality of hardships but I won’t allow them to control and dictate my thoughts. I think a pessimist I am not!

Now Pragmatist seems to fit me very well. “Pragmatism is based on the premise that the human capability to theorize is necessary for intelligent practice. Theory and practice are not separate spheres; rather, theories and distinctions are tools or maps for finding our way in the world. As John Dewey put it, there is no question of theory versus practice, but rather of intelligent practice versus uninformed practice.” Wikipedia couldn’t have made that more confusing sounding could they. Its essentially a practical approach to life. Yet again what practical means to one person may not be the same to another.

I say I am a pragmatist that leans towards realism and as far away from depending on optimism.

What category do you fall in?

One response to “I Am A Realist….

Leave a Reply

