Life Perceived by Me

A great WordPress.com site

Foul Language Pet Peeve (WARNING FOUL WORDS ARE USED IN THIS POST)

on February 11, 2013

I think people who use a great deal of swear words need to open up a Dictionary and read a Thesaurus on a daily basis to learn the true meanings of words and other words to express themselves. Curse words are not absent from my vocabulary but I enjoy sounding educated enough to convey my thoughts without the usage of such foul language. I can’t stand people who use nothing my curse words as a way to express the thoughts and emotions they are experiencing. In a few words it conveys sheer ignorance to me.

Do you really have to use ‘four’ letter words such as fuck, bitch and the like to show frustrations and dislike?

Do you not know other words that describe or explain your disgust for something?

Is your educational background so remedial that your vocabulary consists of only a handful of words the meaning of I highly doubt you even know?

I realize everyone communicates with slang and we take short cuts in the english language, in every language its just human. We misuse words, and make up new ones that fit our communication needs at the time. However is it really necessary to use expletives so often and with such freedom. Does it cross anyones mind that children may be around and not everyone desires there children to speak like ignoramuses?

A friend of mine posted a  .jpeg saying “People who use a lot of swear words tend to be more honest and trustworthy, human behavioral studies suggest.” following is her feelings on the statement “….i find it to be true in my own experience. and i bet if there were actually studies done on this, they would show the results above. i find (in personal experience) that people who are constantly concerned with what others think of them (like how they dress, the words they use, the people they are seen with) are less in touch with their own true natures. this is because they are so outwardly focused and only look toward themselves from an outer-focus-point. thus they are more susceptible to a wearing down of their innate values, like honesty, compassion, joy.” I disagree.

It seems to me concern for how one dresses, speaks and acts isn’t necessarily concern for how other see them. I feel in moderation its actually concern for there own well being. Just as proper speech would be an investment in ones educational development. Don’t you think it shows more of a responsible nature for self and others if they learned how to properly express themselves. A person is much more apt to show the beauty of honesty, compassion and joy if they were able to do so with a plethora of words rather then a few interchangeable foul ones.

Do you see where I am going with this?

I don’t want my children to grow up into adults that refer to someone who irritates them or someone who wrongs them in any certain way with a foul term. How is that going to help them in life? Its such a limited way to communicate. I hope that the vocabulary they inherit is perfect for them but allows them a wide range of  ways to express themselves, the idea’s they posses and what they desire. I mean how sweet is it to hear lover say “Dude, I fuck’n love you.” as an expression of true love? Be honest is that even close to what you want to hear before making love to someone?

I don’t know maybe some people do. I do know in my opinion those who have a limited vocabulary of ‘four’ letter foul words to express themselves sound sadly ignorant.

4 responses to “Foul Language Pet Peeve (WARNING FOUL WORDS ARE USED IN THIS POST)

  1. you sound like you would be a bad friend who would talk shit behind backs cuz you think your better than other people so ill take a foul mouthed mother fucker over you any day

  2. Jeanne says:

    I can see where you are coming from. In my youth I was mostly unicultural, some called me “sheltered” though even now I would disagree with that characterization. It wasn’t lack of exposure so much as a socially encouraged view of my own culture’s moral and intellectual superiority.

    It sounds like you may have drunk some of the same koolaid I did for so many years. Oddly enough, becoming a missionary taught me to trust a person who uses foul language over one who does not. The culture I serve is one that is well known for their “dirty” mouths, but they know how to clean their language up and will do so in the presence of anyone they do not trust. “I f’n love you” is one of the most beautiful phrases it has been my honor to hear; it is almost universally a sincere and spontaneous expression of true affection. When I hear a man tell God “You gave me this, and I F’ked it ten ways to Sunday, I need your help to get out of this s#*tfest I have made of things.” I know I am witnessing a truly repentant moment, a moment worth a hundred canned sinners seat prayers.

    It sounds like you are on to something with encouraging people to understand the meanings of the words they use, as this is the true crux of the thing. I put to you, does not the meaning of the word lie in what it communicates to the hearer and what is intended by the speaker? Dictionaries only document these things, any linguist worth his salt knows language is a constantly moving target. Here in America we all speak the same language but can not arrive at a universal meaning for the word “dinner” or even agree on a universal word for the popular sugared fizzy drinks, and that is just inside our own borders!

    What if we acknowledge that our “big words”, often calculated to impress or intimidate, can be just as jarring and offensive to someone outside our culture as foul language is to us? They drop an f bomb and we hear “I have no respect for you.” We drop an SAT vocab word and they hear “I think you are a worthless idiot.” Perhaps it would be better to flip our double standard. Rather than judging our words by what we intend them to mean and their words by how they make us feel, we should judge our words by how we make others feel and their words by what they intend them to mean.

    Do you disagree?

Leave a Reply

